JON HOPKINS & THE CREATORS PROJECT PREMIERE ‘IMMUNITY’ VIDEO

Jon Hopkins | 13/05/13

Image: Jonm Hopkins wide

With the release of Jon Hopkins' forthcoming album, Immunity, on June 3rd, we are excited to premiere the extraordinary new audio-visual piece and collaboration with The Creators Project, ‘Immunity’. Watch it here: http://youtu.be/QWam1HlKGkI

 

The ‘Immunity’ video was an intricate collaborative effort between art director & typographer Craig Ward, biochemist Linden Gledhill and Jon Hopkins. Soundtracked by music from the forthcoming album, the piece features Gledhill's microscopic time-lapse photography of crystal growth and chemical reactions. Craig Ward explains:

"Jon's music is organic and flowing, yet with a hard and rhythmic electronic edge. The idea of delving down to explore chemical interactions under a microscope felt like the perfect solve to create the album imagery and our video for The Creators Project features much of the same - various immiscible liquids, dyes and chemicals interacting underneath the watchful eye of my collaborator on the project, biochemist Linden Gledhill."

To learn more about ‘Immunity’, visit http://bit.ly/10KQv4o. The Creators Project is an ongoing global arts and technology initiative created by Intel and Vice in order to support visionary artists, musicians, and filmmakers who are using technology to push the bounds of creative expression. 

Jon Hopkins has added a date at KOKO in London on 21st September. His album release show at London’s Village Underground on June 12th has now sold out. Hopkins will also be performing at Green Man and Bestival in the UK. Full live dates are as follows: 

 

Sat. May 11 - Geneva, CH @ Mapping Festival

Fri. May 31 - Montreal, QC @ Mutek [Metropolis]

Tue. June 4 - Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands

Wed. June 12 - London, UK @ Village Underground~ - SOLD OUT

Thu. June 13 - Barcelona, ES @ Leisure System

Sun. June 23 - Westmeath, IE @ Body & Soul

Sat. June 29 - Derry, IE @ Celtronic Festival

Fri. July 5 - Amsterdam, NL @ Pitch Festival

Sat. July 20 - Gente, BE @ 10 Days Off Festival

Fri. Aug. 16 - Berlin, DE @ Berghain

Sat. Aug. 17 - Wales, UK @ Green Man Festival

Fri. Aug. 23 - Katowice, PL @ Nowa Musyka

Fri. Sep. 6 - Isle of Wight, UK @ Bestival

Sat. Sep. 21 - London, UK @ Koko

Thu. Oct. 26 - Munich, DE @ Münchner Kammerspiele

 

~ w/ The Field (support/solo live show), Nathan Fake (support/DJ set)

 

Open Eye Signal is the first single taken from the album and will be available on June 3rd, with remixes from Happa, Lord of the Isles, Luke Abbott and Nosaj Thing.  STREAM "OPEN EYE SIGNAL" (NOSAJ THING REMIX) here: http://snd.sc/104I1Jk.

 

WATCH "OPEN EYE SIGNAL" video, here: http://youtu.be/Q04ILDXe3QE

Pre-order Immunity, HERE.

Get the Flash Player to see this movie.

FILES BY JON HOPKINS

Image: jon hopkins insides packshot
Listen to: Wire
by Jon Hopkins
 
Image: jon hopkins insides packshot
Listen to: Insides
by Jon Hopkins